Pigments & Pixels

Artworks of Jocelyn Gardner

About Joss

Despite a degree in biology, I did not have the inner calling to make it my profession. Personal events changed the course of my life to the point where art took the vacated place. It started with the simple creation of black-and-white drawings of animals that I had studied and observed.

approach

My creative process is constantly evolving, both in terms of how I use media and what is intended to be expressed. This is probably due to my background as a scientific illustrator, which leads me to represent all kinds of subjects on a wide variety of topics.

Artworks

A painting can sometimes remain unfinished for months without finding a conclusion. I can then choose to work on it on the computer. The original gesture remains present and can even be accentuated. The colors can be more saturated and the textures better defined.

Collections

The ultimate goal of every artistic work
is to be enhanced by the eyes of an audience.

Pixels

Digital Pastel
Digital Pastel

Pixels

All-digital original works.

Having acquired a good expertise in drawing and computer image processing software, I have developed a know-how that allows me to create digital paintings in a variety of styles. I sometimes use my photo archives as a source of inspiration.

Pigments and Pixels

Scanned hand-painted works.

These artworks originate from hand painted works that I did not finish for one reason or another. I sometimes give a second life to some of them, a few months or years later, by digitizing them and then transforming them using digital imaging software.

Gouache and pastel on paper, scanned

Pigments and Pixels

Acrylic and pastel on canvas, scanned

Pigments

Gouache et pastel sur papier

Pigments

Hand-painted works.

Abstract works made on board, paper or canvas. These are compositions in which I have used various traditional mediums, the main one being dry pastel. I sometimes applied a base coat of gouache or acrylic to create textural effects on which the pastel was applied. I applied an acrylic varnish at the end.

Pigments & Pixels

Œuvres de Jocelyn Gardner

À propos de Joss

Malgré un Bac en biologie, je n’ai pas eu l’appel intérieur d’en faire ma profession. Des événements personnels ont changé le cours de ma vie au point où c’est l’art qui a pris la place laissée vacante. Cela a commencé par la simple réalisation de dessins noir-et-blanc d’animaux que j’avais étudiés et observés.

démarche

Mon processus créatif est en constante évolution, tant en ce qui concerne la façon dont j’utilise les médias que ce qui est destiné à être exprimé. Cela est probablement dû à ma profession d’illustrateur, qui m’amène à représenter toutes sortes de sujets et sur des thèmes très variés.

œuvres

Un tableau peut parfois rester en suspens pendant des mois sans trouver de conclusion. Je peux alors choisir de le compléter à l’ordinateur. La gestuelle originelle reste présente et peut même être accentuée. Les couleurs se retrouvent plus saturées et les textures mieux définies.

Collections

Le but ultime de chaque œuvre artistique
est d'être mise en valeur par le regard d'un public.
Exposition Pigments et Pixels

Pixels

VIrtual connection01
Pastel numérique
Pastel numérique

Pixels

Œuvres originales intégralement numériques.

Ayant acquis une bonne maîtrise des logiciels de dessin et de traitement d’image à l’ordinateur, j’ai développé un savoir-faire qui me permet de réaliser des tableaux numériques au style varié. J’utilise parfois mes archives de photos comme source d’inspiration.

Pigments et Pixels

Œuvres peintes à la main puis numérisées.

Ces œuvres ont pour origine des tableaux réalisés à la main, mais que je n’ai pas terminés pour une raison ou une autre. Il m’arrive de donner une deuxième vie à certains d’entre-eux, quelques mois ou années plus tard, en les numérisant puis les transformant à l’aide de logiciels d’imagerie numérique.

Le nomade
Gouache et pastel sur papier, numérisé

Pigments & Pixels

Reflets
Acrylique et pastel sur papier, numérisé

Pigments

Flotille, pastel et gouache sur papier
Gouache et pastel sur papier

Pigments

Œuvres au pastel et/ou gouache et/ou l’acrylique. Œuvres abstraites réalisées sur carton, papier ou toile. Ce sont des compositions où j’ai utilisé différents médiums traditionnels dont le principal est le pastel sec. J’ai parfois appliqué une couche de fond à la gouache ou à l’acrylique pour créer des effets de textures sur lesquels le pastel a été appliqué. J’applique un vernis acrylique au final.